UNIX Socket FAQ

A forum for questions and answers about network programming on Linux and all other Unix-like systems

You are not logged in.

#1 2014-11-06 10:12 AM

santoshkumar
Member
Registered: 2007-08-21
Posts: 53

Need help for NTP proxy configuration

Offline

#2 2014-11-06 01:32 PM

RobSeace
Administrator
From: Boston, MA
Registered: 2002-06-12
Posts: 3,839
Website

Re: Need help for NTP proxy configuration

I'm not really up on ntpd configuration...  But, I'm pretty sure that if things were going properly, that "ntpq -p" output would have a "*" at the beginning of the line for a valid peer...  Since I see no other character in your included output, I'm guessing it was really a space?  That means (per the man page): "The peer is discarded as unreachable, synchronized to this server (synch loop) or outrageous synchronization distance."...

I think that's because all your NTP servers appear to be stratum 16, and anything above 15 is not considered useful...  You don't show 10.102.78.198's ntp.conf, but I assume that's either syncing with a real NTP server on the Net or using a fake 127.127.* reference clock driver?  If the latter, you'll need a "fudge 127.127.* stratum 10" (or whatever fake stratum you want to give it)...  Then, 10.102.79.182 should end up with a stratum one higher than that after it syncs...

Offline

#3 2014-11-06 01:36 PM

RobSeace
Administrator
From: Boston, MA
Registered: 2002-06-12
Posts: 3,839
Website

Re: Need help for NTP proxy configuration

Well, nevermind; I just noticed that 10.102.78.198 shows as stratum 1 in your output!  So, hmmm...

Oh, in 10.102.79.182's config, I don't think you want a "server" entry for its own IP!  Just the "restrict" line...  That may be the source of the problem: it's trying to sync against itself, and sensing the sync loop...

Offline

#4 2014-11-09 12:48 PM

santoshkumar
Member
Registered: 2007-08-21
Posts: 53

Re: Need help for NTP proxy configuration

Last edited by santoshkumar (2014-11-09 12:50 PM)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB