UNIX Socket FAQ

A forum for questions and answers about network programming on Linux and all other Unix-like systems

You are not logged in.

• Index
  • » C++
  • » How to get a text file under Windows C++???

#1 2005-01-30 05:38 PM

scape

Re: How to get a text file under Windows C++???

I am very new to C and C++ programming.  I do have Borland's compiler.  I would like to ask the clearly very knowledgeable persons in this forum what I hope will be a question with a simple answer, perhaps backed up by a few lines of code that will serve as a learning tool.

Is there a way to use the http protocol under C++ to send a message to a server that will cause a text file (rich text file) to be sent to a buffer variable controlled by the requesting C++ software?  (I am functioning more on the level of C than C++, but will work to comprehend C++ code if that is the only way to achieve the goal.) 

I am hoping to avoid using the wininet dll provided with Windows Explorer to eliminate any demands to download that dll (or any similar dll) from a third party.  I can not benefit from code requiring Visual C++ and any non-ANSI header files or class libraries not provided with my compiler, as I am using Borland Turbo C++ 4.5 to try to work through this.

I have no prior experience with the http protocol.  My one attempt at tranferring files was under Visual Basic using a wininet function call (which worked).  Please note that at this moment I would not even know how to establish a socket connection to begin the exchange, or how to close it.  I would need to transfer a fairly large text file to be able to access large reports.  I can live without the need to download graphics embedded in the text for now, but would like to be able to download rich text without losing the formatting of the text.