UNIX Socket FAQ

A forum for questions and answers about network programming on Linux and all other Unix-like systems

You are not logged in.

#1 2011-11-01 06:25 PM

giobaxx

Bind Error: "Cannot assign requested address"

Hello to everyone and sorry for my english...
I'm studying socket programming, and i was trying to do some very simple example
like this:

# include <strings.h>
# include <stdlib.h>
# include <netinet/in.h>
# include <stdio.h>
# include <sys/types.h>
# include <sys/socket.h>

int main(int argc, char *argv[]){
    struct sockaddr_in myself, peer;
    int peer_len = sizeof(peer);
    int b_len;

int s, i;
    char buf[1500];
    if (argc < 2) {
	fprintf (stderr, "Usage: %s port_number\n", argv[0]);
	exit(1);
    }
    if ((s=socket(AF_INET, SOCK_DGRAM, 0))==-1) {
      perror("socket");
      exit (1);
    }

bzero((char *) &myself, sizeof(myself));
    myself.sin_family=AF_INET;
    //myself.sin_addr.s_addr=INADDR_ANY;
	myself.sin_addr.s_addr=inet_addr("10.10.10.10");
    myself.sin_port= htons(atoi(argv[1]));

if (bind(s, (struct sockaddr *) &myself, sizeof(myself))==-1) {
       perror("bind");
       exit(1);
    }

while(1){
       if (recvfrom(s, buf, sizeof(buf), 0, (struct sockaddr *) &peer, &peer_len)==-1){
           perror("recvfrom()");
           exit(1);
       }
       printf("Received packet from %s:%d\nData: %s\n\n",
       inet_ntoa(peer.sin_addr), ntohs(peer.sin_port), buf);
    }
}

When i use this command "myself.sin_addr.s_addr=INADDR_ANY" to assign an ip Address i don't have problem, but when i want to try to assign any other IP address like 10.10.10.x i receive the error  "Cannot assign requested address". and i don't know where is my error...i'm a beginner:-(
I work on a Guest LINUX Ubuntu installed in Virtual BOX

#2 2011-11-01 07:47 PM

RobSeace
Administrator
Website

Re: Bind Error: "Cannot assign requested address"